The 11th annual awards gala celebrates the best of British Columbia’s talent in film, television and recorded media.

Vancouver, B.C. (November 19, 2022) – This year’s UBCP/ACTRA Awards ceremony honoured performers in six categories during the live ceremony at The Vancouver Playhouse on November 19th, 2022.

Award Highlights:

Beginning with a star-studded red carpet hosted by Vancouver media mogul, Sabrina Furminger, the interviewees included fan-favourite Eric McCormack (DRINKWATER), actor and director, Agam Darshi (DONKEYHEAD), and Taylor Hickson (Motherland: Fort Salem).

Actor and comedian Kalyn Miles hosted the Award Ceremony.

The John Juliani Award of Excellence was bestowed posthumously to revered actor Michael Kopsa.

This year’s UBCP/ACTRA Award winners are: 

Best Lead Performance, Female
Agam Darshi – Donkeyhead

Best Lead Performance, Male
Stephen Lobo – Donkeyhead

Best Supporting Performance, Female
Leah Gibson – Joe Pickett – The Most Hated Man in 12 Sleeps

Best Supporting Performance, Male
Eric McCormack – Drinkwater

Best Voice Performance
Ian Hanlin – Angry Birds: Summer Madness – Much Ado About Pudding

Best Stunt Performance
Marny Eng, Colby Chartrand, Kevin Fortin, Leif Havdale and Jeff Sanca – Sonic the Hedgehog 2

“I am so grateful to be able to celebrate the exceptional calibre of acting that is represented here tonight,” says Ellie Harvie, UBCP/ACTRA President. “We have all enjoyed countless hours of entertainment by the performers who were nominated and it is exciting to think of what we will see from these talented actors in the future. I am proud to be a part of this community.”

The sponsors of the awards show include the Event Sponsor AFBS; Silver sponsors ACTRA, Bakertilly, Canadian Media Producers Association BC Branch, Casting Workbook, The Characters, Industrial Alliance, Koskie Glavin Gordon, Stuntlist, Teamsters Local 155; and Bronze sponsors Directors Guild of Canada BC, eOne, IATSE Local 891, ICG 669, Lighthouse Pictures, Lucas Talent, Play Management, Red, The School of Motion Picture Arts – Capilano University and Stunts Canada.

The Union of British Columbia Performers (UBCP/ACTRA) is an autonomous branch of ACTRA (Alliance of Canadian Cinema, Television, and Radio Artists), the national organization of professional performers working in the English-language recorded media in Canada. ACTRA represents the interests of 28,000 members across Canada – the foundation of Canada’s highly acclaimed professional performing community. 

Media Contact: Lesley Diana | The Promotion People
604-726-5575| [email protected]

Alison Stewart [email protected]
Communications Officer| UBCP/ACTRA

UBCP/ACTRA Social Media:
Twitter: @UBCP_ACTRA
Facebook: @UBCP.ACTRA
Instagram: @UBCP_ACTRA
Linkedin: UBCP/ACTRA

Comments are closed.