For Immediate Release


Vancouver, BC (October 11, 2023)  Nominees for the 12th annual UBCP/ACTRA Awards have been announced.

One of the award season’s premier events, the UBCP/ACTRA Awards honours members in eight non-gendered performance categories for their exceptional contributions to film, television, and new media in the past year. This peer-adjudicated awards show highlights talent across multiple categories and provides an evening of celebration for nominees, winners, and industry partners.

“We have a superb group of talented nominees and look forward to celebrating with them at the Commodore Ballroom on November 25,” said Ellie Harvie, UBCP/ACTRA President and ACTRA National Councillor. “It has been an extremely challenging year, but we are truly proud of the conviction and solidarity shown by our members, union siblings, and industry partners. The nominating and adjudicating committees, staff and volunteers have all worked tirelessly to ensure that the awards night will be a true reflection and celebration of the talent and success of our members. It will also serve as a well-deserved toast to everyone in our industry for staying afloat during this difficult season.”

Additionally, UBCP/ACTRA will be presenting the Lorena Gale Woman of Distinction Award to Susan Hogan at the event for her work as a performer and her accomplishments in the industry. Hogan appeared in her most noted film role as Marlene in Bordertown Café. Her television roles include 130 episodes of Family Passions (Canada’s first soap opera) and 100 episodes of Night Heat. She has guested on many episodics such as Virgin River, Battlestar Galactica, Supergirl, the L Word, Motive, and Heartland. Susan was nominated twice for the Jessie Richardson Theatre Awards and also received three Leo Award nominations.
UBCP/ACTRA Awards 2023 Nominees

Best Lead Performance, Motion Picture
Grace Dove – Bones of Crows
Bradley Stryker – Sheltering Season
Caitlin Stryker – Sheltering Season
Veena Sood – The Wedding Season
Camille Sullivan – Exile
Cardi Wong – Golden Delicious
Best Lead Performance, Series
Madeleine Arthur – Devil in Ohio – Broken Fall
Sarah Chalke – Firefly Lane – Heart Shaped Box
Richard Harmon – Fakes – Real G’s Move In Silence Like Lasagna
Morgan Holmstrom – Skymed – Daj Mi Buzi
Jewel Staite – Family Law – Fifty Shades of Judginess
Best Supporting Performance, Motion Picture
Charlie Carrick – Alice Darling
Chris Carson – Golden Delicious
Phillip Forest Lewitski – Bones of Crows
Ryan Mah – Golden Delicious
Alyssa Wapanatâhk – Bones of Crows
June B. Wilde – Blood
Best Supporting Performance, Series
Stefania Indelicato – Billy the Kid – The Rampage
Stephen Lobo – Alert: Missing Persons Unit – Zoey
Lauren K Robek – Firefly Lane – Time After Time
Gabrielle Rose – The Night Agent – Eyes Only
Christopher Shyer – The Night Agent – Redux
Keegan Connor Tracy – Creepshow – To Grandmother’s House We Go
Best Performance, Made for Television
Linda Darlow – Hannukah On Rye
Jaycie Dotin – Curious Caterer: Grilling Season
Greyston Holt – House of Chains
Donia Kash – Hearts in the game
Wern Lee – Why Can’t My Life Be A Rom-Com?
Best Stunt Performance
Production – The Flash – Negative, Part One
Stunt Coordinator – Jon Kralt
Stunt Performer – Nilo Ghajar
Production – Peter Pan and Wendy
Stunt Coordinator – Eli Zagoudakis
Stunt Performers – Trevor Addie, Fraser Aitcheson, Chad Bellamy, Marshall Bingham, Curtis Braconnier, Leanne Buchanan,  Paul Cheng, Mike Ching, Devyn Dalton, Jason Day, Cassandra Ebner, Will Erichson, Corbin Fox, Joseph Franco, Lars Grant, Ryan Handley, Danny Hospes, David Jacox, Brad Kelly, Jack Kingsley, Mark Krysko, Cody Laudan, Josh Mazerolle, Atlin Mitchell, Darryl Quon, Matt Reimer, Nathaniel Shuker and Andre Tricoteux
Production – The Mother
Stunt Coordinator – Dan Rizzuto
Stunt Performers – Paul Lazenby Mike Mitchell and Gaston Morrison
Production – The Night Agent – The Call
Stunt Coordinator – Mike Mitchell
Stunt Performers – Matt Mylrea, Gerald Paetz and Chris Webb

Production – The Night Agent – The Call
Stunt Coordinator – Mike Mitchell
Stunt Performers – Ryan Ennis, Leif Havdale, Zandara Kennedy, Gerald Paetz, Jeff Sanca and Angela Uyeda
Best Short Performance
Edward Escobal – Paco
Bob Frazer – Dawn
Yuvraj Kalsi – A Little Vacation
Jess McLeod – A Little Vacation
Lissa Neptuno – Little Manila
Best Voice Performance
Garry Chalk – Monster Loving Maniacs – Guess Who’s Coming to Dinner
Mackenzie Gray – Ninjago: Dragons Rising – Crossroads Carnival
Ian Hanlin – The Guava Juice Show – DoomsRoi Device
Asia Mattu – Deepa & Anoop: Perfect for Par-Nani
Nicole Oliver – Ninjago: Dragons Rising – The Calm Inside
Jason Simpson – The Dragon Prince – Fallen Stars

Visit the UBCP/ACTRA Awards website for images of the Nominees.


The Union of British Columbia Performers (UBCP/ACTRA) is an autonomous branch of ACTRA (Alliance of Canadian Cinema, Television and Radio Artists), the national organization of professional performers working in the English-language recorded media in Canada. UBCP/ACTRA’s over 8,000 members are an integral part of the approximately 28,000 performers who have come together to build ACTRA, the strongest Union of cultural workers in Canada.
Media are invited to contact [email protected] with requests for interviews with the nominees either before the event during the awards evening.  
Media Contact: [email protected] | 604-689-0727

Comments are closed.